Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature, 2012

Kim Scott That Deadman Dance

Kim Scott's That Deadman Dance (Image courtesy Picador Australia)

The Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature are biennial awards, coinciding, funnily enough, with the holding of the biennial Adelaide Festival. I understand, however, that from 2012 the festival will be an annual event. Presumably this means the literary awards will also be awarded annually from now on. If that’s the plan, South Australia will finally have an annual literary award, like most other Australian states.

Anyhow, this year’s winners, which were announced earlier this month, are:

  • Premier’s and Fiction award ($15,000) award: Kim Scott‘s That deadman dance (My review)
  • Nonfiction award: Mark McKenna’s An eye for eternity: The life of Manning Clark
  • John Bray Poetry Award: Les Murray’s Taller when prone
  • Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship: Nicki Bloom for The sun and other stars
  • Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award: Margret Merrilees’ The First Week

There are a few other prizes including for Children’s and Young Adult books, but these are the ones of main interest to me and so they’re the ones I’m giving you!

It’s great to see Kim Scott garnering another two awards for That deadman dance. It has now won:

It was shortlisted for several other Australian literary awards in 2011 and has also been longlisted for the 2012 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. I do hope it is starting to make inroads into overseas markets.

4 thoughts on “Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature, 2012

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s